Food and wine personality Lyndey Milan announced as Murrurundi’s 2020 Australia Day Ambassador

Murrurundi's 2020 Australia Day ambassador, Lyndey Milan OAM. Photo: Supplied

 Murrurundi’s 2020 Australia Day ambassador, Lyndey Milan OAM. Photo: Supplied

AUSTRALIAN media personality and television chef Lyndey Milan OAM will be adding some flair to Murrurundi’s Australia Day celebrations on Sunday.

The familiar face on television and in print has been announced as the Upper Hunter Shire town’s 2020 Australia Day ambassador.

Boasting her own nine best-selling cookbooks, eight TV series and influence as former Food Director of the iconic Australian Women’s Weekly, Ms Milan has been instrumental in changing the way Australians think about food and wine for over 30 years.

She is an award-winning multi-media presenter, MC, speaker, food and wine teacher, consultant, debater, judge and regional Australian specialist who makes numerous TV and culinary appearances.

Murrurundi will celebrate January 26 with markets from 9am followed by a 10am parade from the Rosedale Complex.

The main awards ceremony will be held at 11am, where Ms Milan will address those in attendance and help to give out awards.

Following the ceremony there will be a 7 a side cricket match for juniors and seniors, a barbecue provided by the P&C, live music by Chloe and James and free entry to the Murrurundi pool from 1pm to 6pm.

Lyndey Milan joins paralympian Taylor Corry and radio broadcaster and television gardening presenter Graham Ross as Upper Hunter Shire Council Australia Day ambassadors for 2020 in Scone and Merriwa respectively.

The celebrations will kick off from 8.30am in Scone (who is also hosting Aberdeen’s ceremony) with a barbecue breakfast at the Council Chambers before a 9.30am awards ceremony.

In Merriwa, the ceremony begins at 10.30am at the Merriwa RSL Club and will be followed by a barbecue lunch.

Locals will also vie for Australia Day awards among numerous categories, with nominees for each town in 2020 including:


Carole & Bob Johnston

Joan Johnston

Janine Katon

Miss Bella-Rose Partridge

Ruby Brochtrup


Michelle Loft

Lorna Parnell

Christine Riley

Edith Shipway

Tash Taaffe

Julia Wilton

Tamika Drury

Jackson Keane

Nicholas Thorburn

Molly Wong

Ben Keane

Jackson Keane

Nicole Martin

Hannah Riley

John & Carol Richard

Denis Nutt

Ben Frampton

Merriwa Tourist Welcoming Centre & Men’s Shed

Sanskos Café


Doing it for our Farmers

Blandford Relay Team

Jenny Loasby

Justine Cooper


Helen Archibald

Garry Dawson

Lindy Hunt

Cassie Fisher

Fletcher Shearman

Katie Sutcliffe

Indi Welsh

Gracie Bates

Tyla Brown

Ryan Clerke

Cassie Fisher

Lachlan Hails

Josh Ihle

By Caitlin Reid, The Scone Advocate